So I’m going to make an observation on Pagans in general.  It may not be nice, and it’s certainly not something that anyone wants to hear, but it’s definitely true.  Pagans simply have trouble fitting into modern American society.  There’s a reason that there are no famous Pagans (other than singers…and that’s a whole other can of worms).  Most Pagans, in my experience, believe that our society won’t let them be who they want to be, and so they simply stop obeying the commonly accepted rules of society.  I’m not talking about laws, I’m talking about social graces and simple functionality in society.

There are millions of people that lack social grace and there’s no problem with that.  I really could care less whether someone walked around in a Darth Vader costume every day, but I’d bet a million dollars that he’d never become the CEO of a company.  I just don’t understand it I guess.  First of all, those of you that wear cloaks to McDonalds or cover yourself in black make-up, what exactly are you trying to accomplish?  This isn’t the 12th century and you aren’t starring in a horror movie.  What’s the point?  I’m not trying to be mean because it doesn’t matter all that much to me if you look ridiculous, but I’d just like to understand.  I live my life trying to accomplish certain things and if something makes it really difficult to accomplish those things, I usually try to get rid of it.  What exactly does wearing a cloak gain you?  I know that putting on all of that make-up probably gets expensive, gives you acne, and probably takes a long time to do.  And you look silly as well.

I’m not James Bond, I’m absolutely not a prince, and I definitely still put my elbows on the table when I eat.  I have a very scraggly beard and I act like a child quite often.  I’m not saying that I’ve got perfect social standing, but I just don’t understand why someone would purposely make their lives harder for themselves by wearing different clothes that are probably extremely hot or wasting their time, money, and natural beauty to look like a vampire…even on non-Halloween days.

