In the last couple posts, it seemed that there seems to be a bit of disagreement about the very basics of magick.

I’m not sure that this is an accurate statement. One of the problems with many of these accounts of magical powers from a long time ago is that over time the stories tend to be exaggerated. The difficulty is figuring out how much.

Well, why exactly is it that we’re sure that these stories were exaggerated?  I know that this is the general concensus in most magickal circles, but how do you know?  I may be missing some vital piece of information where a soldier in Caesar’s army witnessed a “shapeshifting” and described it as simply being a shift from man to beast in actions and mindset, and if this is true then I will be extremely glad to hear of it because it makes my possible goals far simpler.

On the other hand, I really don’t think that there is an actual eyewitness statement of an ancient shapeshifter.  There are also the seemingly eyewitness statements of the most commonly known magickal stories:  turning water into wine, walking on water, healing blindness, etc.  I know that many of us have turned our backs on Christianity, but it is still a book of stories from a time where magick was far more common.

So what possible goals could we reach through magick?  Could we really have the Harry Potter style magick?  Or is it that something of this nature is completely out of reach for us?  And why is it out of reach for us?  We have all heard stories of levitation, of curing diseases instantaneously, shapeshifting, of calling forth the elements to destroy villages, of parting the waters to cross a sea.  These are common stories in myths, and all seem to be quite extraordinary, but at the same time, we say that by visualizing and manipulating energy we can heal the sick (slowly and only in ways that we don’t understand scientifically), cause people to fall ill (by a disease that we cannot actually see or witness the effects of until it has taken hold), can call spirits to us (though not so much ones that we can see, more that we “know” are there), and create spells that will bring love and money to us (though not in any way that we can describe).  How exactly are these different?  The difference is not in how extraordinary they are, it’s in how easily we can accept them.  So how much can we actually affect the physical world through the use of magick?

Remember this:  Science doesn’t understand the physical world any better than it did 2000 years ago.  We don’t know why anything happens.  Gravity is unexplained, the way that an atom is held together is unexplained, the fact that the world is actually matter-less and yet we are solid is unexplained.  We absolutely can predict what will happen if we do something.  We understand what happens when you drop an apple from a tree, but who knows why?  No one does.  So why can’t it be that we all expect it to happen, so it does? 

The world gives you exactly what you want, every time.  The only problem is that it’s what all of you wants, not just the conscious part of you.  I want to travel through time, but my subconscious expects me not to so I don’t.  I want to throw fireballs but my subconscious says that I’m being silly, so I don’t.  I want to find a girl that is perfectly suited for me and my subconscious says that that’s perfectly reasonable and that I can affect that change in the world, so I will find that girl.  How are these any different?  I’m able to “cast my spells” effectively only when I truly believe in them.  Maybe what we should be working towards is being able to believe…